Sunday, January 24, 2010

Altar mound in Kernavė, Lithuania

Kernavė was a medieval capital of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania and today is a tourist attraction and an archeological site. It is located in the Širvintos district municipality located in southeast Lithuania. Kernavė is situated near the bend of the Neris and the Pajauta valley, next to the area of historic hillfort mounds, piliakalnis.
Lithuania is the land of mounds. The number of mounds counts up to 1000, five of which are still left in Kernave. The oldest mound- the central altar mound - was inhabited in the 1st millenium BC. Pajauuta valley stretches behind the mound


Conwy Castle, Gwynedd, United Kingdom

Conwy Castle is a castle in Conwy, on the north coast of Wales. It was built between 1283 and 1289 during King Edward I's second campaign in North Wales. Conwy replaced Deganwy Castle, an earlier stronghold built by Henry III that had been destroyed by Llywelyn the Last in 1263.
It is a part of UNESCO World Heritage Site, "The Castles and Town Walls of King Edward in Gwynedd".
In 1986, four castles related to the reign of King Edward I of England were proclaimed collectively as a World Heritage Site, as outstanding examples of fortifications and military architecture built in the 13th century. Sites designated were:
1. Beaumaris Castle, Anglesey
2. Caernarfon Castle, Caernarfon
3. Conwy Castle, Conwy
4. Harlech Castle, Harlech


Pontcysyllte Aqueduct, United Kingdom

The Pontcysyllte Aqueduct is a navigable aqueduct that carries the Llangollen Canal over the valley of the River Dee, between the villages of Trevor and Froncysyllte, in Wrexham in north east Wales. Completed in 1805, it is the longest and highest aqueduct in Britain, a Grade I Listed Building and a World Heritage Site.


Küstenland,The Wadden Sea, Germany

Germany-47, originally uploaded by Abhishek's Received Postcards.

The postcard says "Piece of heart in the Wadden Sea - Hallig Süderoog".
Hallig Süderoog is one of the ten small German islands without protective dikes in the North Frisian Islands on Schleswig-Holstein's Wadden Sea-North Sea coast in the district of Nordfriesland.
At storm tide, the Hallig will be all under water, only the so-called "Warften" (metre-high man-made hills where the houses were built upon) stay above sea level.

Hallig Süderoog is part of Schleswig-Holsteinisches Wattenmeer National Park.

The Wadden Sea is an intertidal zone in the southeastern part of the North Sea. It lies between the coast of northwestern continental Europe and the range of Frisian Islands, forming a shallow body of water with tidal flats and wetlands. It is rich in biological diversity. In 2009, the Dutch and German parts of the Wadden Sea were inscribed on UNESCO's World Heritage List.