Saturday, May 2, 2009

Roros, Norway

Norway-1, originally uploaded by Abhishek's Received Postcards.

Røros was established as a municipality on 1 January 1838 (see formannskapsdistrikt). It was split into four municipalities on 1 January 1926 (Røros town, Røros landsogn, Brekken, and Glåmos), but these four were merged together again on 1 January 1964.
The town is named after the old Røros farm ("Røraas" around 1530), since the town was built on its ground. The first element is the river name Røa and the last element is os meaning "mouth of a river" (the small river Røa runs into the great river Glåma here). The meaning of the river name Røa is unknown.


Post a Comment